The Tarot is a set of 78 special cards commonly used in divination.
While many people believe that the Tarot is ancient in origin, there is no evidence of it’s existence prior to the 14th century and it’s use as a tool for divination dates to the late 18th century.

The Tarot is made up of 2 sets of cards: the Major Arcana (made up of 22 cards) and the Minor Arcanna (the remaining 56 cards).
The Major Arcana (also called the Trumps) contain symbolic images and have a commonly accepted order, names and meanings.
The Minor Arcana is made up of 4 suits: Swords, Wands (or rods), Cups, and Pentacles (or disks).